Celebration of Life Event - Remembering Solo116

Celebration of Life Event - Remembering Solo116

Postby imjimsmith » Fri Mar 20, 2015 7:58 am

Fellow Community Members,

The recent passing of Solo116 (that's how I knew him) highlights so much of why I still stick around this forum. Sure, I'm an admin, but I took on that role because of how much this space felt more like a real community than just another place on the internet. Yes, we hurl insults at each other with reckless abandon, but for anyone who has an Italian-Catholic family, it probably just reminds you of the holidays. At the end of the day, we all share something unique through our participation here.

I met Solo about two years ago when I joined CodxP and my first impression of him was his even keel. He had a maturity about him that I rarely encounter - especially on the internet. That's why he was such an obvious choice for a site moderator. Combined with his helpful attitude and calm demeanor, he added a lot of depth to the site. The whole reason this forum 'feels' the way it does is in part due to his efforts. He made a lot of contributions to the community, and he'll be remembered.

We're going to set this weekend aside to honor Solo's contributions to the game and the community by hosting a Celebration of Life event. We're going to introduce a couple new items, and we're renaming the Lesser Long Sword to Solo116's Long Sword since he had a crazy amount in his inventory. If anyone knows the story, post it here for us. We're also going to donate a portion of proceeds generated this weekend to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation in Solo's name. If you prefer to donate directly, here's a link http://www.cff.org/.

Join us this weekend by celebrating the life of a generous member of our community that we lost way too soon. You'll be missed Solo.
A conservative at 20 has no heart, and a liberal at 50 has no brain.
imjimsmith
Posting Freak
Posting Freak

Re: Celebration of Life Event - Remembering Solo116